Former Criminal Prosecutor
Veteran Owned and Run
Orlando Office:  33 E. Robinson St., Suite 111, Orlando, FL 32801        
Clearwater Office:    235 N. Garden Ave., Clearwater, FL 33755  

Call now for a Free Consultation:

(321) 314-2828

Or just give us your email and we'll contact you!

Attorney Advertising. The material and information contained on these pages and on any pages linked from these pages is intended to provide general information only and not legal advice. You should consult with an attorney licensed to practice in your jurisdiction before relying upon any of the information presented here. You are advised that the acts of sending email to or viewing information from this website does not create an attorney-client relationship.

Contact
The Adams Law Firm





Call our Law Firm
for a Free Consultation

(321) 314-2828 

Contact Us
​Orlando: 33 E. Robinson St. Suite 112, Orlando, FL 32801 
Clearwater:235 N. Garden Ave., Clearwater, FL 33755
(321) 314-2828            josh@joshadamslaw.com

Penalties for DUIs in Florida 
by Joshua Adams, Esq. 


In Florida, DUI's carry significant mandatory minimum penalties, including mandatory adjudication of guilty. That means if you have been charged with a DUI, the only way to not end up with an adjudication of guilty to the DUI on your permanent record, is to either have the charge dismissed by the state or court, or to plea to a lesser charge, the most common of which is reckless driving (although not actually a lesser included offense strictly speaking). Below is a chart of other mandatory penalties:
                                                           BAL. under 0.15                                        BAL.  0.15 or Greater or Accompanied by Minor
Fine:                                            MINIMIM                    MAXIMUM                          MINIMIM                        MAXIMUM
1st Offense:                                   $500                           $1000                               $1000                               $2000
2nd Offense:                                    1,000                          2,000                                2,000                                 4,000
3rd Offense:                                     2,000                          5,000                                4,000                                 5,000
4th Offense (Felony)  

Jail:
1st Offense                                                                   0-180 days incarceration                           0-270 days incarceration
2nd Offense not w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction          0 -270 days incarceration                           0-365 days incarceration       
2nd Offense w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction                 10-270 days incarceration                         10-365 days incarceration  
3rd Offense not w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction         0-365  days incarceration                           0-365 days incarceration
3rd Offense w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction              30-365  days incarceration                        30--365  days incarceration
4th Offense (Felony)                                                    Up to 5 yrs in State Prison                         Up to 5 yrs in State Prison

Ignition Interlock Devise:
1st Offense                                                                                                        N/A                                      180 days minimum                                                  
2nd Offense                                                                                  1 year minimum                                        2 years minimum
3rd Offense                                                                                  2 years minimum                                       2 years minimum
4th Offense not w/in 10 yrs of 3rd Conviction                                               N/A                                                                N/A
4th Offense w/in 10 yrs of 3rd Conviction                                2 years minimum                                                               N/A

Vehicle Impoundment or Immobilization:
1st Offense                                                                                                   10 days                                                                                 
2nd Offense not w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction                                            10 days
2nd Offense w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction                                                   30 days
3rd Offense not w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction                                         10 days
3rd Offense w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction                                                90 days
4th Offense 

Driver's License Action:                                                              Minimum                                                  Maximum
1st Offense                                                                              180 days  revocation                                       1 year  revocation                                                         
2nd Offense not w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction                       180 days  revocation                                       1 year  revocation
2nd Offense w/in 5 yrs of 1st Conviction                                    5 Year revocation 
3rd Offense not w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction                                         
3rd Offense w/in 10 yrs of 2nd Conviction                               10 Year revocation
4th Offense                                                                            permanent revocation 

Classes:
DUI Counter Attack Class (DUIAC) Level I - First Offender or Level II all other Offenders (Mandatory)
State Approved driving training, substance abuse education course, substance abuse evaluation and treatment if recommended, Victim Awareness - Irresponsible driving impact on the community, victims and families- (May be Court Ordered) 

Community Service
50 hours minimum (First Offenders) 

DUI Causing Damage to Person or Property of Another (Same as DUI Enhanced)

Habitual Traffic Offender:
Convictions of three or more of certain types of traffic offenses, including DUI, within 5 years will result in a 5 year license revocation as a habitual traffic offender.
CSS MenuMaker
CSS MenuMaker
Orlando Criminal Defense, Civil Litigation, Estate Planning and Probate Lawyers. Handling cases in Orange County and surrounding areas