Call now for a Free Consultation:
Or just give us your email and we'll contact you!
Criminal Charges that Result in a Driver's License Suspension
In Florida, it is a
2nd degree misdemeanor
punishable by 60 days jail and a $500 fine to leave the scene of an accident with property damage.
If you leave the scene of a crash that involves and injury, you could be charged with a third degree felony, punishable by 5 years prison and/or a $5000 fine. Read More
Possession of a Firearm by a convicted
Felon is aggressively prosecuted and severely punished in Florida. Florida Statute 790.23 States:
The Adams Law Firm, P.A. has attorneys
ready to talk and to help resolve you
violations affecting you and your loved
ones. We understand how disruptive and traumatizing a Violation of Probation can be to your family. A violation of probation is different that allegations of a crime, because:
Lower standard of proof;
I am a former state prosecutor who has
extensive experience on both sides of the
courtroom. I will fight to protect your legal rights and resolve the criminal matter in the most favorable manner possible given your specific situation. This will vary for each client and may include:
Negotiating to have the charges dropped or dismissed
Negotiating to have the charges reduced
Can you Seal or Expunge my Criminal
Record? In order to Seal or Expunge
your criminal record it must be determined that you are eligible to do so. The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) is the governing body who determines whether or not a person is eligible to Seal or Expunge their criminal record. If you have been adjudicated guilty (or adjudged delinquent as a juvenile) of any misdemeanor or felony crime, then you will not be eligible to seal or expunge your criminal record. This includes a conviction for DUI, Reckless Driving or Driving while license suspended (DWLS). In order to Seal or Expunge your criminal record, the case that you seek to seal or expunge must be resolved, including any probationary periods.
Florida aggressively investigates
and prosecutes sex offenses, including conducting undercover decoy stings for Traveling to Meet a Minor and Peer to Peer network stings for child pornography.
Possible punishment includes:
Imprisonment in the Florida Department of Corrections
Possible Defenses Include:
Filing (C)4 Motions to Dismiss
To prove the crime of (crime charged)
the State must prove the following
three elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
1. (Defendant) possessed a certain substance; 2.The substance was (specific substance alleged); 3. (Defendant) had knowledge of the presence of the substance.
In addition to the standard possible punishments, if you possess a certain about of drugs, you may be charged with trafficking and subject to Minimum Mandatory Sentencing. The threshold for trafficking is as follows: Cannabis: 25 pounds or 300 plants, Cocaine: 28 grams, GHB: 1 kilogram, Hydrocodone: 4 grams, LSD: 1 gram, MDMA (Ecstasy): 10 grams, Oxycodone: 4 grams
Driving under the influence of
alcohol or drugs is a serious criminal offense. You will need an experienced DUI lawyer to fight for you. A conviction for a DUI can lead to incarceration and your license will be suspended. There are substantial consequences to you and your family.
Florida recognizes a broad
right to self-defense. Florida's self-defense statutes states:"Use of force in defense of person.—A person is
justified in using force, except deadly force, against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to defend himself or herself or another against the other’s imminent use of unlawful force." In Florida, a person can even use deadly force and does not have a duty to retreat if: (1) He or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another or to prevent the imminent commission of a forcible felony; or (2) Under those circumstances permitted pursuant to s. 776.013.